Turkey Burgers

I saw this recipe for these multi-colored turkey burgers and had to try them. We do not eat a lot of burgers, I do not cook burgers often at home. We have been making a slow switch to turkey from beef lately, trying to eat healthier when possible. I never cared for the frozen, flavorless turkey patties you can get from the grocery store but these looked so flavor packed I thought they might redeem the turkey burger for me. For this recipe I subbed the red onion for yellow (the red is too strong for my ulcer to handle) and sun dried tomatoes for fire roasted because my local grocery store did not sell sun dried tomatoes. 

My complete ingredient list follows:

2 lbs ground turkey

1/2 cup breadcrumbs (though my final results were somewhat crumbly so you might want to increase this to 2/3 cup to 1 cup)

4 oz feta cheese

1/2 can fire roasted tomatoes drained

1 cup spinach chopped 

1 tsp oregano

1/2 yellow onion diced

2 cloves garlic diced

1 egg 

  

Combine everything.
  

Mix everything together. This recipe is constructed pretty much like a meatloaf. Make patties out of the meat mixture and grill according to your preferred methods. I used a George Foreman. The internal temperature for safe consumption of ground turkey is 165 degrees Farenheit according to the USDA. My parties were fairly delicate and easily pulled apart so be gentle grilling. They will hold mostly if handled carefully. I added provolone as soon as I removed them from the grill which helped keep them from crumbling further. 

  

Made for 10 decent patties and 3 completely destroyed ones.
 

I had a mess afterwards and had to scrape the crumbled parts off the grill before adding new patties but the result really was delicious. Perhaps this recipe would have made for a better meatloaf to avoid the mess but the burgers were delicious. I didn’t make the accompanying sauce as I don’t like dill so I just added mayonnaise, romaine lettuce, cucumbers, and the provolone I mentioned earlier on a regular bun. 

The flavor combination of this recipe was really great, I love feta and it melts in the meat in a very, very appealing way. All in all, an enjoyable recipe. If I ever find an interesting meatloaf sauce recipe I want to try, this will definitely be the recipe I use for the meatloaf itself.

Leave a Reply

