Writing A YA Series Among Other Things…

So, I have graduated from UK’s MLIS (Masters of Library and Information Science) program and I just started a four-month internship at my undergrad alma mater that only requires 20 hours a week of my time. I am taking a break from applying to permanent positions simply so I am not tempted to leave the internship and my managers in a lurch if offered a full time position which would clash with my commitment here and I believe finishing the internship will be more beneficial in the long run. It is a great academic library, a great university, and a fantastic opportunity with some of the nicest people I have ever met.

But, I feel like I could do more. Definitely more in the internship, I will be learning valuable day to day skills that cannot really be taught in college or grad school, but also more in my personal life and to meet my personally held dreams. One of those dreams is to pursue an agent and a major publisher for my WIP YA series.

It is difficult, with my anxiety issues (anxiety, depression, panic attacks, and insomnia) and some major agoraphobia problems I did not foresee, to plan for creativity, exercise, cooking, quality time with friends and loved ones, and in general the down time everyone needs to feel human. Especially with the commute for the internship which adds up to about an extra ten hours a week on the preexisting 20 hours. I do have big plans though and as soon as I have slept more than 4 hours within 72 hours I plan to sit down and really have a heart to heart discussion and planning session with myself. I need a deadline. And before starting my first full-time, permanent position (when I am lucky enough to find one) seems like a good one to finish the first book in my series, including all the drafts I can see needing. If I don’t at least make a go of it now, I am not sure I can ever see myself trying or having any level of success in the future.

Basically this is just a rambling hunger and sleep deprived tirade for change in my life, feel free to ignore it while I gather my thoughts.

Leave a Reply

