Book Review: Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

sixofcrows

Publisher’s Summary:

“SIX DANGEROUS OUTCASTS. ONE IMPOSSIBLE HEIST.

Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price — and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge.

A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.

A runaway with a privileged past.

A spy known as the Wraith.

A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.

A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.

Six dangerous outcasts. One impossible heist. Kaz’s crew is the only thing that might stand between the world and destruction — if they don’t kill each other first.”

 

I finished this book a few weeks ago, I have since started an internship and gotten halfway through Shadow and Bone by the same author so the book isn’t super fresh in my mind. I was too busy at the time to write a review but this book seriously deserves one.

I loved Six of Crows. It was exciting, the characters felt very real to me, not just real but damaged. I realize now I really like damaged characters. This is a YA fantasy, sort of steampunk-y, although I am not sure if that was intentional. It is definitely a world I have never seen before. Usually fantasy, especially YA fantasy feels like the same sort of universe across novels but this was so new to me, not only the world itself but the concept, the type of magic introduced was just a new thing, I can’t quite describe what it is.

I would recommend this book to anybody regardless of what type of genre they prefer, though there is some detailed violence which may disturb younger readers or the super squeamish. I picked up Shadow and Bone immediately after I finished this book because I loved it so much and felt the author was super talented. My review of that will be up as soon as I finish (Bardugo has definitely improved since writing S&B). Even better, Six of Crows will have a sequel which I am definitely excited for. Surprisingly the large cast of characters does not seem to overwhelm the book and each character is explored adequately according to the story’s need. You will definitely find yourself favoring some over others. They are each given very distinct personalities. I am excited to see the characters blossom even more in the next book.

I also love strong female characters (those do tend towards damaged more often than not and I am not at all sure how I feel about that trend but that is a different blog post) and this book has two main female characters with enviable characterization. I also enjoy that this book has diversity (the six main characters are not all white). The book itself is well paced and you will find yourself on the edge of your seat during some of the more daring escapades.

Highly recommend. I wish I had written this review right after I finished reading so I could express my reactions more strongly, but you will not be disappointed. Just go read it.

Leave a Reply

