Books for Baby

September 27, 2016

I started this post when I was 6 weeks pregnant and saved it to publish once I went public with the news that I was having a baby. But then I got caught up working two jobs, then summer reading programs came around, and basic preparing for baby hysteria. Anyway, I forgot about this post and haven’t blogged at all otherwise for these same reasons. But I figure better late than never! So now, at 35 weeks pregnant I am posting this book list.

March 2016

So, I am writing this post at 6 weeks pregnant exactly according to the pregnancy apps I have downloaded on my phone (first prenatal visit is usually scheduled for 8 weeks or so) but won’t publish it until after my first ultrasound when we should hear the heartbeat for personal superstitious reasons I wish I didn’t subscribe to. It was a surprise, one we certainly have welcomed but with some fear and anxiety. My husband and I are relatively young to be having a baby in this day and age, I am 25 and he is 23. We know there are many things we will have to learn to be good parents but we are willing and will try to be open minded.

So, besides charting my little embryo’s growth since I found out at exactly 4 weeks, the thing I have been most excited and emotional about having a baby is getting to buy children’s books. There are so many from my childhood that shaped my love of reading, language, and art. My private early registry consists mostly of books I want to fill Squishy’s (our nickname for our little chocolate chip-sized offspring) bookshelves with before his/her arrival.

Fairy tales are a must. I already own The Annotated Brothers Grimm edited by Maria Tatar and plan on buying The Annotated Hans Christian Anderson and The Annotated Peter Pan in the same series as well.

annotatedbrothersgrimm

annotatedhanschristiananderson

annotatedpeterpan

And Peter Pan in Kensington Gardens illustrated by Arthur Rackham because the illustrations are so gorgeous and I love that older, softer style of illustrations.

peterpaninkensington

I also own East of the Sun, West of the Moon: Old Tales from the North illustrated by Kay Nielsen which is just the most gorgeous book of fairy tales ever.

eastofthesun

Also on my list, but I have not read this edition Old French Fairy Tales by Comtesse De Segur and illustrated by Virginia Frances Sterrett which also has some really gorgeous illustrations. oldfrenchfairytales

Also included on that list of fairy tales are The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupery, translated by Richard HowardSnow White and the Seven Dwarfs: A Tale from the Brothers Grimm, illustrated by Nancy Ekholm, translated by Randall Jarrell, and Lon Po Po: A Red-Riding Hood Story from China by Ed Young.

littleprince

snowwhiteandthesevendwarfs

lonpopo

And of course I want the more modern classics that we all grew up with like Winnie-the-Pooh which my father-in-law found these really awesome vintage copies of The World of Pooh and The World of Christopher Robin with the non-Disney illustrations. I have no links for the editions I own as I have not been able to find the exact kind anywhere but here is a link to the book with these illustrations.


Peter Rabbit and the entire Beatrix Potter collection were some of my favorite illustrated books growing up and I still own the box set I used, though it is held together by duct tape and covered in scribbles. I would probably purchase a new version for my baby like Beatrix Potter: The Complete Tales (Peter Rabbit).

beatrixpottercompletetales

Goodnight Moon by Margaret Wise Brown, illustrated by Clement Hurd, The Rainbow Fish by Marcus Pfister, The Giving Tree and Where the Sidewalk Ends by Shel Silverstein are modern classic must haves as well.

goodnightmoon

rainbowfish

Of course then there is the super modern, not quite a classic, but I am positive most people my age will want to share with their children, Harry Potter series. I already own The Illustrated Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling, illustrated by Jim Kay (I actually ordered The Philosopher’s Stone from Amazon UK).

illustratedharrypotter

There are also several books that I am not sure would be classified as classics or must haves but they are so visually appealing I kind of want them for myself. Some of the illustrations borrow from classic art styles and some are very modern.

Animalia by Graeme Base

animalia

House Held Up by Trees by Ted Kooser, illustrated by Jon Klassen

househeldupbytrees

The Magic Flute by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (THE Mozart), illustrated by Emanuele Luzzati (and hard to get a hold of)

magicflute

Along a Long Road by Frank Viva

alongalongroad

The Ship that Sailed to Mars by William Timlin

shipthatsailedtomars

The Snowy Day by Ezra Jack Keats

snowyday

The Great Paper Caper by Oliver Jeffers

greatpapercaper

Why Mosquitoes Buzz in People’s Ears: A West African Tale by Verna Aardema, illustrated by Leo Dillon and Diane Dillon

whymosquitoesbuzzinpeoplesears

Outside Over There by Maurice Sendak

outsideoverthere

Flotsam by David Wiesner

flotsam

The Garden of Abdul Gasazi by Chris Van Allsburg

gardenofabdulgasazi

The Arrival by Shaun Tan

arrival

And just so, so many more. I want to line the walls of my baby’s nursery with books and honestly the older they get the more books I will want to buy and read to them and watch them read. I am so excited to share the beautiful things of this world with this little person who will be mine to teach and mold and watch explore. It is overwhelming and humbling.

*All book covers used in this post belong to their respective publishers, authors, and illustrators and are used in good faith to promote these titles and express my admiration for their work.

 

Leave a Reply

